Is ethyl alcohol halal shia

There is a Donut shop in Canada popularly known as Tim Hortons. This shop sells donuts, pastries, coffee, tea and a variety of other foods and hot beverages. The brothers approached me and told me that there is an alcohol product in this drink and advised me not to purchase this drink again due to the fact that there was alcohol in it. All of their hot beverages except regular coffee and tea products contain ethyl alcohol which is an ingredient within the artificial ingredients section of these drinks.

They parse_qs python 3 stated that there is a high probability that the ethyl alcohol in these drinks is not evaporated and that one who drinks them is likely consuming the ethyl alcohol. All of their pastries including muffins, strudels, croissants, turnovers etc… contain ethyl alcohol as an ingredient within the artificial ingredients section of these products.

They further stated that most if not all of the ethyl alcohol in these pastries is evaporated as a result of the baking process. All of the fillings in their donuts contain ethyl alcohol as part of the artificial ingredients section of these filling. In the the village of porto columbu where ethyl alcohol is not permissible to consume — does it make a difference regarding how much of this alcohol is in the product i.

In the situation where ethyl alcohol is not permissible to consume — does is make a difference if it has evaporated from the product or not? If one knows for certain that it has evaporated can one consume the product it was originally put in. As a general question: is it permissible to consume any of these products based on the ingredients and the conditions of the state of the ingredients listed above?

Subscribe to RSS

According to the principles of Hanafi Madhab, the prohibition of Khamr is beyhadh 2 youtube to the alcohol derived from grapes [and dates]. The alcohol ethanol used in most of commercial products in our times is not derived from dates and grapes.

Hence consumption of such non-khamr alcohol is permissible when used within the bounds of above conditions. Ethyl Alcohol ethanol is the base intoxicating chemical. It can be derived either through fermentation of grapes, dates or other glucose rich sources. It can even be made synthetically. The ruling of ethyl alcohol will depend on its source. If it is derived from grapes or dates, then its consumption will be strictly haram prohibited. Since Tim Hortons facilities also provide other products which are from haram sources, I would also caution you to keep a lookout for cross contamination in these stores.

Do's and Dont's Misc. They further stated that most if not all of the ethyl alcohol in these pastries is evaporated as a result of the baking process 3. The following is a list of questions I had: 1. Is Ethyl Alcohol permissible or impermissable to consume? It is not used in vain for futility.

It is not used to such a level which intoxicates. The above will apply to all the products of Tim Hortons. Related Fatwas: Is Network Marketing halal or haram? I am unable… He oppressed me so much that I do not want to return….

Share this Fatwa.By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie PolicyPrivacy Policyand our Terms of Service. Islam Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for Muslims, experts in Islam, and those interested in learning more about Islam. It only takes a minute to sign up. So some days ago I've been taking strepsils and I recently found that it contains some sort of alcohol Dichlorobenzyl alcohol to be specific. Is this type of alcohol specifically halal or haram to intake?

And is taking any sort of alcohol for medication purposes halal? That is a chemical Alcohol. The alcohol part is only to tell chemists, doctors pharmacists what the shape of the drug is and the chemical contents of the drug. It's not the Alcohol that is in beer or wine. That Alcohol's chemical name is actually ethanol.

There is not Ethanol in Dichlorobenzyl Alcohol there is a benzene ring, with two chlorines bonded with an -OH structure. IMO you are OK to use such medication, since such "Alcohol" won't get you drunk even if taking in large quantities.

Ruling on perfumes containing alcohol

Also this is a fatwa in such regards. Each sort of alcohol which is considered as intoxicant, is counted as haram forbidden matter. But it seems has another ruling Fatwa in the case of medical treatment. But taking it as a medicine in all cases doesn't matter. The significant point is that seemingly you should do other permissible solutions, then refer to this matter, not… www.

Tahrir al Vasilah, Vol. On the other hand, it could be benefient for you to know in the case that the mentioned alcohol is relevant to ethanol, thus it seems to beconsidered not as a haram sort of alcohol. Because it is relevant to the industrial alcohol which seems not to be haram forbidden. For further info. I suggest you to peruse the following site in regard to ethanol. Sign up to join this community. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top.We need to talk at length about the issue of perfumes that are said to contain cologne or alcohol.

This does not matter. If the percentage of alcohol is very high, so that you can detect it, then it is better not to use it except where it is necessary, such as for sterilizing wounds and the like. In cases where it is not necessary, it is better not to use it, but we do not say that it is haram. The most we can say is that this high alcohol content is an intoxicant, and no doubt consuming intoxicants is haram according to the texts of Islam and the consensus of the scholars, but is using it in ways other than drinking it permissible?

is ethyl alcohol halal shia

This is open to speculation, but to be on the safe side we should not use it. So avoid strictly all that abomination in order that you may be successful. Shaytaan wants only to excite enmity and hatred between you with intoxicants and gambling, and hinder you from the remembrance of Allaah and from al-salaah the prayer. So will you not then abstain? So, in conclusion, we say that if the percentange of alcohol in this perfume is low, there is no need to worry about using it, but if it is high, then it is better to avoid it unless it is for a need, such as sterilizing wounds and the like.

Password should contain small, capital letter and at least 8 characters long. Log in Create an account. If you do not have an account, you can click the button below to create one. Create new account Log in. Reset password. English en. Indonesian id. Ruling on perfumes containing alcohol Publication : Views : Answer : All forms of intoxicants are Haram forbiddenwhether they are Tahir ritually pure or Najis.

Answer : All kinds of alcohol whether extracted from wood or other sources are Tahir ritually pureand are not permissible to drink, except for wine which is also Najis, and Beer Maa al-Sha'eir which is also Najis ritually impure as an obligatory precaution.

So, the medicines and the perfumes containing alcohol are pure and can be used. It is also permissible to eat such food if the amount of alcohol is very minute, e. Answer : There is no problem in it. Answer : The drink that is made from barley and called "Fuqa' in Arabic is definitely forbidden and Najis ritually impure as an obligatory precaution.

This drink is not intoxicant normally but it makes one feel tipsy; that is a state of slight drunkenness caused apparently by low percentage of alcohol in the liquid.

Are Your Cosmetics Halal? {Part 1}

Therefore, if a drink is produced alcohol free in the first place and it is not called "Fuqa" beerthere is no problem, or else, it is forbidden even if alcohol is separated from it.

I purchased an ice-cream business and now I am finding out that some of the ice-cream syrup contains less than 0. That syrup is then used to make ice-cream.

[Short clip] Permissibility of vanilla extract

My question to you is: Can I a Muslim sell or eat this ice-cream made from syrup that contains less than 0. Answer : If it is not intoxicating, there is no objection in it; you can buy, sell and eat it. Can a Muslim buy and sell intoxicating alcohol to non-Muslims?

Answer : It is not permissible to buy and sell alcohol. Answer : It is permissible to consume if the amount is very minute, e. Answer : It is Tahir ritually cleanand permissible to use. If the alcohol is not being consumed at our table, does this change the ruling? Answer : If alcohol is not consumed at your table, there would be no objection and you can eat in that restaurant. Yes, if going to such a restaurant is considered bad for the reputation of a Muslim, it is not permissible to eat in there.

Answer : It is not permissible to do anything in connection with alcoholic beverages. But if it means a drink made from barley that does not cause mild drunkenness, there is no problem in it. The drink that is made from barley and called "Fuqa' in Arabic is definitely forbidden and ritually impure as an obligatory precaution.When I first found out Honey Nut Cheerios are haram impermissibleI sat on the kitchen floor and cried for a good 30 minutes before I could accept it.

It was my favorite cereal since childhood, OK; don't judge. But when I heard that personal care products like lotions, soaps, makeup and so forth must also meet halal standards, I was initially skeptical. If we're not consuming the product, like food, then does it matter if my makeup has haram ingredients like beetle juice in it as gross as that may be?

Each madhab is valid and correct in its own right, and every single one of them are very similar to each other, except for a few details. It does not matter which madhab you follow; what matters is you choose one and follow it percent, rather than picking and choosing what you'd like to follow from each one.

Since I follow the Hanafi madhab, I consulted Hanafi-specific rulings on cosmetics to find that non-synthetic alcohols and other haram ingredients, such as carmine extracted from insects' bodies and eggs to obtain red coloring are percent haram, whether in food or makeup, if there is the possibility of them being consumed.

Subscribe to RSS

That is why technically, eyeshadows and eyeliners containing carmine are halal permissible. The presence of synthetic alcohols in small amounts is also considered permissible.

Malaysia's Fatwa Committeebased on the Maliki madhab, has the same rulings regarding alcohol, as does Shafi'i madhabwhich also allows the presence of alcohol in self-care products like perfume. The Hanabli madhab doesn't appear to be much different. Although I wasn't able to find any more verified rulings specifically for cosmetics in any of the four madhabs, one thing acknowledged by all four madhabs remained clear: if there is a difference of opinion as to whether something may or may not be halal, it is better to avoid it than risk the possibility of it not being halal.

Technically makeup is absorbed through the skin to some degree, so I decided to take the taqwa route and follow the strictest and clearest ruling of no haram ingredients at all in any of my makeup products. Note: this entire article is based on the assumption that any haram ingredients in the makeup product will render it haram as well.

Vegans have really paved the way in both food and cosmetics for Muslims all over the world with a whopping cosmetic brands turned vegan and cruelty-free, including high-end brands like Kat Von D and Anastasia Beverly to cheaper alternatives, such as Colourpop and E.

With ingredient lists containing names like Polyethylene Terephthalate and Yellow 5 Lakeverifying your makeup's halal-haram status seems impossible, but you can cut down on the ingredient lists you'll have to sieve through by pulling aside the brands that are without a doubt made of plant-based ingredients.

is ethyl alcohol halal shia

Although this does not mean these products can immediately be deemed halal because we still have to check for alcohol and pseudo-vegan ingredientsit does shorten the time spent to check a few select ingredients.

This also ensures that you'll have a list of numerous brands to select from the next time you want to stock up on goods without the stress of sifting through every single name on the ingredients list. Bless you, vegans; we'll keep you in our prayers. Ethanol and all variations of it are haram, including ethyl alcohol, ethylene and methylated spirits. This is because ethanol and all forms of it penetrate the skin to the degree where it actually enters your bloodstream to a measurable amount.

Other alcohols are syntheticincluding the ones below, and thus, they are permissible:. Second, there's another list of halal-haram brands and what products from each brand are of concern and why. Though we can't determine for sure if this list is regularly updated, it's a good start to know which products may be haram off the bat and which you'll have to look up some more.

Some common ones I ran into were carmine in my Bareminerals loose power eyeshadows, vanilla flavor which is vanilla extract, which has alcohol in it in my Palladio lipstick and squalene which comes from shark livers in my LA Colors eyeshadow pallets. Some ingredients may be classified as vegan but you have to call the company to determine if the ingredient is from animal fats or a plant source. This step comes in handy when you have any exclusive, special or limited-edition products for which you no longer have the packaging for.Well according to sistani it is allowed because sistani says that the alcohol in the medicine is so minute and it also dissolves quickly with other substances, so its permissable to take the medicine.

This grade is usually However, this does not mean that the medicinal product will consist of Alcohol is only used as one of the ingredients in relatively smaller amounts that is diluted with other ingredients to achieve the final product. Is it permissible to use it? And perform salat after lubricating the lotion.

WS, You'll hear about mouthwashes that contain alcohol cause oral cancers, so imagine putting it in your nose. Use a saline nose rinse instead. You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account. Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible. Paste as plain text instead. Only 75 emoji are allowed.

Display as a link instead. Clear editor. Upload or insert images from URL. Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics No registration required! Search In. Give a Salawat Here! Rate this topic 1 2 3 4 5. Recommended Posts.By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie PolicyPrivacy Policyand our Terms of Service.

Islam Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for Muslims, experts in Islam, and those interested in learning more about Islam. It only takes a minute to sign up. So some days ago I've been taking strepsils and I recently found that it contains some sort of alcohol Dichlorobenzyl alcohol to be specific.

Is this type of alcohol specifically halal or haram to intake? And is taking any sort of alcohol for medication purposes halal? That is a chemical Alcohol.

is ethyl alcohol halal shia

The alcohol part is only to tell chemists, doctors pharmacists what the shape of the drug is and the chemical contents of the drug. It's not the Alcohol that is in beer or wine. That Alcohol's chemical name is actually ethanol. There is not Ethanol in Dichlorobenzyl Alcohol there is a benzene ring, with two chlorines bonded with an -OH structure.

is ethyl alcohol halal shia

IMO you are OK to use such medication, since such "Alcohol" won't get you drunk even if taking in large quantities. Also this is a fatwa in such regards. Each sort of alcohol which is considered as intoxicant, is counted as haram forbidden matter.

But it seems has another ruling Fatwa in the case of medical treatment. But taking it as a medicine in all cases doesn't matter. The significant point is that seemingly you should do other permissible solutions, then refer to this matter, not… www. Tahrir al Vasilah, Vol.

On the other hand, it could be benefient for you to know in the case that the mentioned alcohol is relevant to ethanol, thus it seems to beconsidered not as a haram sort of alcohol. Because it is relevant to the industrial alcohol which seems not to be haram forbidden. For further info. I suggest you to peruse the following site in regard to ethanol. Sign up to join this community. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top. Home Questions Tags Users Unanswered.

Is it allowed to take alcohol in medication?


comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 2